A program designed to improve education and welfare facilities generally has been initiated in the Northwest Territories. The program now includes regular distribution of educational films, special radio broadcasts to classrooms, the provision of additional equipment and supplies, and increased attention to methods of instruction. Schools are usually staffed by a particular classification of welfare teachers who carry on welfare work in the communities in addition to regular teaching duties.

Yukon Territory.—Public schools in the Yukon Territory are operated by the Territorial Government at Dawson, Mayo, Whitehorse, Carcross, Teslin, Watson Lake, Haines Junction, Kluane Lake, Brook's Brook, Swift River and Elsa. The Whitehorse school has three kindergarten departments. Roman Catholic Mission authorities maintain a school at Whitehorse and one at Dawson.

The schools in the Territory follow the program of studies of the British Columbia Department of Education. The public schools at Dawson and Whitehorse have high school departments providing education leading to university entrance. The university entrance (junior matriculation) examinations are held in June at Dawson and Whitehorse by authority of the Department of Education of the Province of British Columbia. Examination papers are forwarded from Victoria and are returned there for grading. In outlying districts, correspondence courses are provided at a nominal fee by arrangement with the British Columbia Department of Education.

Educational matters in the Yukon Territory are in charge of a Superintendent of Schools, resident at Whitehorse, who is responsible to the Commissioner (see p. 86). Inspections of all schools are made periodically by the Superintendent.

The education of Indian children is carried on in day schools operated by the Indian Affairs Branch of the Department of Citizenship and Immigration and in residential schools operated by religious denominations. Full-time day schools are maintained at Whitehorse, Carmacks, Mayo, Moosehide and Old Crow. Seasonal schools are conducted by the denominational workers at Ross River and elsewhere as opportunity arises. At Carcross there is a residential school operated under the auspices of the Church of England in Canada; a new building has been erected and was opened in September 1954. The Baptist church conducts a hostel at Whitehorse where Indian pupils are maintained at the expense of the Federal Government. These pupils attend the Whitehorse Indian School. Indian pupils of Roman Catholic affiliation attend the Indian residential school operated under Roman Catholic auspices at Lower Post, B.C., which is located close to the southern boundary of Yukon Territory. Residential schools in Yukon Territory receive a per capita grant for Indian children registered therein.

Section 3.—Statistics of Schools, Universities and Colleges

Educational institutions in Canada are classified into four types: provincially controlled schools, privately controlled schools, universities and colleges, and federal schools in the Territories and for Indians. The first three types are dealt with in this Section, while information on Indian schools, with the exception of enrolment figures shown in Table 2, is included with the general material on the Indians of Canada given in the Population Chapter, p. 158.